Community College of Allegheny County (CCAC)

Community College of Allegheny County

North Campus Clubs and Organizations

These clubs and organizations provide an opportunity for students to enhance their educational experiences. Student Life always is interested in working with students to support the creation of new student groups.

American Sign Language Club

Enhances its members’ signing abilities and promotes student awareness of the deaf.

Contact: Student Life
412.369.3697
kporter@ccac.edu

Black League of African-American Culture (B.L.A.C.)

Promotes the academic and personal development of African-American students.

Contact:  Student Life
412.369.3697
kporter@ccac.edu

Child Development Club

Promotes and encourages parent/student participation in programs and services supported by the Child Development Center.

Contact: Debbie Welch
412.369.3721
dwelch@ccac.edu

Computer Club

Promotes like-minded students to gather and discuss all things computer related.

Contact: Student Life 
412.369.3697 
kporter@ccac.edu

Criminal Justice Club

This club directs students who have a high interest in criminal justice/homeland security to become better acquainted with the current American criminal justice systems on federal, state, county, city and local levels.

Contact: Tom Shaheen
412.369.4129
tshaheen@ccac.edu

 

Environmental Club

 

Raises awareness of environmental issues, promotes the recycling program on campus, and gives students an appreciation of the great outdoors.

Contact: Rachel Leonard
412.369.3697  rleonard@ccac.edu

Gay Straight Alliance (GSA)

The purpose of GSA is to be an inclusive club creating a safe space for students which includes networking, education, support, and community involvement.

Contact: Elizabeth Throesch  412.369.4124  ethroesch@ccaac.edu

 

Library Student Advisory Board

This club increases awareness of library services and resources to encourage participation in library activities and to facilitate interaction among students & staff

Contact: Barbara Thompson  412.369.2671
bthompson@ccac.edu

Candace Smigla 
412.369.3602 
csmigla@ccac.edu

Mu Alpha Theta

This club is a math honor society for two-year colleges.  This organization promotes excellence in mathematics to the student body with activities related to PI Day, community service projects, and leadership opportunities.

Contact: Anna DelVitto
412-369-4125
adelvitto@ccac.edu

Rebecca Senkowicz
412.369-4124
rsenkowicz@ccac.edu

National Technical Honor Society (West Hills)

NTHS recognizes student achievement and leadership, promotes educational excellence, award scholarships, and enhances career opportunities.

Contact: Annie Helbling 
412.788.7512  ehelbling@ccac.edu

 

Nursing Club

 

Helps to educate students on health issues, provides community service, and offers support and encouragement to students as they prepare for careers in the field of nursing.

Contact: Paula Susi
412.369.4115
psusi@ccac.edu

 

Phi Theta Kappa (P.T.K.)

P.T.K. is a national honor society for two-year colleges.  Members must have a Q.P.A. of 3.5 or higher and have earned at least 12 college-level credits

Contact: Nick Duerlinger
412.369.4122
Harry Van Riper
412.369.4126
nduerlinger@ccac.edu
hvanriper@ccac.edu

 

Psi Beta

 

Psi Beta is the national honor society for students who have completed at least one course in psychology with an A or B grade and have a 3.25 Q.P.A.

Contact: Anne Louise
Dailey/
Allison Caveglia Barash
412.369.4129
abarash@ccac.edu

Student Activities Board (West Hills)

This club at our West Hills Center provides campus programming, community service and social activities. 
It also serves as the liaison between students and administrators.

Contact: Annie Helbling  412.788.7512  ehelbling@ccac.edu

 

Student Ambassadors Club

Members serve as official representatives for North Campus Admissions.  They work with staff and faculty to greet, escort, and converse with CCAC guests and current and prospective students during campus sponsored events.

Contact: Rhena McCaskill  412.369.3612  rmccaskill@ccac.edu

 

Student Government Association

This organization provides campus programming, community service and social activities on and off campus.  It also serves as the liaison between students and administrators.

Gail Boyea
412.369.4142
gboyea@ccac.edu

Supportive Services

Provides group support for students with disabilities and promotes awareness of disabled people to the campus and the community.

Contact: Theresa Smochko
412.369.3683
tsmochko@ccac.edu

 

Teachers of Tomorrow

 

Provides professional, educational, and social activities that support the childcare and teaching professions.

Contact: Cyndi Syskowski
412.369.4143
csyskowski@ccac.edu

Student Newspaper

 

The VOICE reports on all events at North Campus.  It is published in conjunction with a CCAC journalism class.  All students are welcome to contribute.

Contact: Rich Beighey
412.369.4156
rbeighey@ccac.edu

 

Veterans Club

This newly formed club ensures veterans and their families are receiving all benefits entitled to them.  It also promotes communication and interaction among members.

Contact: Pricilla Robertson  412.369.4191  probertson@ccac.edu

World Cultures Club

Works to bring students of all backgrounds together through social functions, community service projects and campus events.

Contact: Srujana Kanjula  412.369.4141  Skanjula@ccac.edu

Back to top